Two Romantic Bed and Breakfast Getaways in Washington

I have stayed in hotels, resorts, airbnbs, and guesthouses around the world. It never occurred to me to look at Bed and Breakfasts until the pandemic hit Washington.  

SUNDARA WEST B&B 

Restrictions loosened during summer 2020 and COVID cases had decreased, but getting on a plane was still out of the question. I was getting cabin fever and the itch to see beyond the dull yellow walls of my home motivated me to plan a short getaway. So I looked to my own backyard, beautiful Washington state.

First I looked north to Bellingham for 4th of July and for our “babymoon”. I knew I wanted something special, unique, and away from too many people. I started to browse Expedia and I stumbled upon Sundara West Bed & Breakfast. There weren’t many reviews, but from the ones I read and from the photos on their official website, it looked exactly like the fairytale getaway I needed. 

From Seattle, my husband and I took the scenic Chuckanut route north and made a lunch stop at the Oyster Bar. “Come for the food, stay for the view” was their motto. The view inside the restaurant was indeed spectacular from every angle and the food was just as delightful. I started with a halibut chowder and my main was a generous portion of fried oysters served with apple aioli. My husband chose to order something a bit more unique, Salmon Pastrami Sandwich (In house smoked salmon, emmental cheese, smoked sauerkraut, 1000 island dressing on house made rye bread).  

After lunch we continued north to Fairhaven Village, a charming small town located near Bellingham. By the time we arrived in the village, the sky was raining cats and dogs so we decided to save Fairhaven for another brighter day. 

Sundara Bed & Breakfast was as picturesque as it was in the photos. We parked in the driveway where twinkling lights illuminated a large pot of lilies. The owner Jackie greeted us and gave a quick tour of the property. Sundara has two rooms in the main house, a separate cabin for families, a large heated pool, outdoor hot tub, fire pit, and plenty of outdoor spaces to roam around.  

We booked the Lavender Room. Just as it sounds, the room was painted in charming lavender colors and decorated with furniture that complimented the hue. The bathroom on the other hand had a colorful rose wallpaper that brought out the romance of the lace shower curtains. I felt like a princess in a Victorian castle.  

The next day we slept in and had breakfast at the predetermined time of 10am. Groups ate breakfast at different times to provide social distancing.  

Jackie’s multi-course hot breakfast was another reason I booked this place. There was fine china set out on the dining table when we came downstairs. The first course consisted of yogurt, granola, berries from her garden, fresh squeezed orange juice, and coffee. Then Jackie brought out the hot breakfast dish of the day – her signature gruyere and ham stuffed French toast served with a side of tomatoes and sliced avocado.  

Due to Covid restrictions, Bellingham and many other towns canceled their July 4th celebration and fireworks. We were pleasantly surprised and excited to hear that the guests of Sundara would be getting their own private fireworks show. It was apparently tradition for the surrounding farms to put on their own fireworks. So on the night of July 4th, we sat around the fire pit roasting smores and watched as fireworks lit up the sky 360 degrees and the smoke envelop a field of cows.  

ROARING RIVER B&B 

Almost two months had passed since Sundara West and I was entering my third trimester. Again, I was hit with an urge to venture out for some new scenery before my range of movement became limited. I spent days searching and pondering over the next bed & breakfast, realizing it may be my last for awhile. It had to be no short of perfection. 

Finally I found it…a secluded B&B located in a forest along a cliff outside of North Bend. Though their website photos were simple (and did not do them justice), the numerous positive reviews were a good sign. There were five rooms to choose from, each different and spread across their vast property. For the first night I booked the Rock and Rose room, one of the smaller rooms with a sauna for my husband. 

Before driving to North Bend, we dropped by Uwajimaya in Bellevue and stocked up on treats and easy to heat up meals. Each room at Roaring River includes a fridge and microwave, so it made sense to bring our own food.  

Driving into Roaring River B&B felt like we were entering a magical forest. As soon as I stepped out of the car, I could smell the trees and hear the soothing sound of the river located just below the cliff. We followed the signs to reception and knocked on the door of the main house where the owners Herschel and Peggy lived. We were greeted and taken to the Rock and Rose Room, located right below the main house. This room had the best view of the river. We left the window slightly open so we could fall asleep to the sound of rushing waters.  

The next morning at 8am, Herschel knocked on our door with breakfast delivery. Until that point, I did not know what to expect from breakfast, because it was not showcased on their website. I was very pleasantly surprised, even gleeful, when I saw the assortment of food in the large picnic basket. I knew that this was meant to be eaten on our private patio overlooking the river. I threw on the robe to keep warm and set out each dish. There was fruit salad in a yogurt sauce, warm scones with jam, egg bake, and fresh squeezed orange juice. I brought coffee from our room to keep our hands warm.

After breakfast I wandered about the grounds. I picked up a book and hot apple cider from the “teahouse”, an indoor/outdoor shared space that was stocked with drinks and snacks. Then I lingered on a cushioned swinging couch, absorbing the sounds and scents of the forest. I pondered the risk of taking the private steep trail down to the river. If my belly had been smaller, I would have gladly taken on the challenge. But alas, safety first.  

That night we switched to the spacious Mountain Room, which was located further away from the cliff. While I missed the view, the enormous jetted tub and double shower was a fair exchange.  

Leave a comment